schmölz + huth

In the world of advertising Walde Huth and her husband Karl Hugo Schmölz, son of the Cologne architectural photographer, Hugo Schmölz, were considered a much sought after team for demanding contract work.

Both artists not only photographed star designer pieces – they also orchestrated the staging for up-market consumer and everyday products in extraordinarily special ways.

The advertising photography of the schmölz + huth Cologne studio from the 50s to the 80s included advertising photos for the auto industry (Renault, Ford, DKW, Borgward, Audi), the fashion and textiles industry (Parisian Haute Couture), for washing powder companies (Wipp, Henkel), the tobacco industry, chocolate producers and flower companies. Publishing houses (DuMont and Bertelsmann) also belonged to Walde Huth and Karl Hugo Schmölz circle of clients, as did international chemicals companies (Bayer), drinks manufacturers and department stores (Kaufhof and Horten).

Today the works of Walde Huth and Karl Hugo Schmölz appear as “cult” because the trend and depictions of the “unspoiled advertising world” of the 50s, 60s and 70s are rare and coveted today. Last and certainly not least, the photographs of the schmölz + huth studio (1958 – 1986) are also documents of design and everyday history, and an important part of the history of photography in Germany.

schmölz + huth

In der Welt der Werbung galten das Fotografenpaar Walde Huth und ihr Mann Karl Hugo Schmölz, Sohn des Kölner Architekturfotografen Hugo Schmölz, als begehrtes Team für anspruchsvolle Auftragsarbeiten.

Beide fotografierten nicht die Objekte der Stardesigner, sondern setzten gehobene Konsum- und Alltagsprodukte in besonderer Weise in Szene.

Die Werbefotografie aus den 50er bis 80er Jahren des Kölner Ateliers schmölz + huth beinhaltet Werbefotos für die Autoindustrie (Renault, Ford, DKW, Borgward, Audi), die Mode- und Textilindustrie (Pariser Haute Couture), für Waschmittelfirmen (Wipp, Henkel), die Tabakindustrie, Schokolade und Blumen. Buchverlage (DuMont und Bertelsmann) gehörten ebenso zum Kundenkreis von Walde Huth und Karl Hugo Schmölz wie bekannte Chemieunternehmen (Bayer), Getränkehersteller und Kaufhäuser (Kaufhof und Horten).

Heute erscheinen die Werke von Walde Huth und Karl Hugo Schmölz als ‚Kult‘, denn der Trend und die Darstellungen der ‚heilen Werbe-Welt‘ der 50er, 60er und 70er ist heute selten und begehrt. Last but not least sind die Fotos aus dem Atelier schmölz + huth (1958 – 1986) Dokumente der Design- und Alltagsgeschichte und bedeutender Teil der deutschen Fotografiegeschichte.

Share